Simbly Bored

It's me that's bored enough to blog. The posts are interesting enough.

Back From Vacation April 9, 2008

Filed under: Discovering marriage,Priceless — The Goddess @ 11:13 pm

Two Days Ago:

So, I’ve been away for almost a month now. And just one thing of interest happened this entire month. I got married. Yaay! All right. I’ve been going on and on about this for so long that I think anything I write now would be a sort of anticlimax. What should I talk about? The ceremony? My new family? My husband? My mother-in-laws kitchen? Or the change in wardrobe from jeans to sari’s and salwars?

No clue.

Here I am, in my new home, typing on a new laptop (gift from The Husband), wearing a sari (something I never do except on dress-up occasions), trying to banish memories of the horrible movie we watched in the morning, importing pictures of the honeymoon and watching my husband sleep.

He stirs in his sleep and I stop typing and move to the sofa so the sound doesn’t disturb him. As I sit here, I wonder… Will we be as considerate towards each other after 10 years of togetherness? Five? Three? One? Somehow, those answers don’t matter so much anymore. I know there was a time when a lifetime commitment seemed like a sentence. Right now, it seems the most natural thing in the world.

Yesterday:

It’s been a hectic three weeks. Parlor appointments, last minute packing, nerves, tension, tickets, endless travel, endless pujas, endless visits to temples, endless touching feet, endless everything.

And now, at the end of all the confusion, when I thought I could finally sit down with my husband and figure out what it means to be a wife, to be married and stuff, he’s down with chicken pox.

Today:

In my bed, had the dinner I’ve been craving for a week. Talked to my parents liked I’ve been wanting to for a week…

Missing my husband. Cursing the office…

 

One Response to “Back From Vacation”

  1. Soumya Says:

    ” I know there was a time when a lifetime commitment seemed like a sentence. Right now, it seems the most natural thing in the world.”..How true!!

    The cutest post marriage blog I have seen 🙂
    Wishing your husband a speedy recovery.
    God bless u both!!!

    Soums


Leave a Reply

