Simbly Bored

It's me that's bored enough to blog. The posts are interesting enough.

Nostalgia June 23, 2008

Filed under: Life,Personal Favourites,The Way I Am — The Goddess @ 11:09 pm

Today, when I was going back from lunch – a farewell treat from friends at work –  I realized with a jolt that it’s just four weeks before home means something different. A different place, a new set of friends, a new world, a new life, a new way of living.

This city has been my home for 6 years now of which I’ve lived here full time for 3.

The idea that I am going away (at least for now) sank in only when Thiru shook by hand and wished me luck. And I looked out of the auto in a haze on my way back. We get so attached to people and places without knowing we have. I’ve worked here for the last 9 months of which I’ve probably spent 6 thinking about moving out and 3 thinking about the past. When did I make friends who would take me out to lunch who would remember me occasionally at chai time for a while after I leave?

When did I get attached enough to this city to actually know I’ll miss it when I’m gone? When did I learn enough to give directions to the auto wallah? And when did I accumulate enough memories to have a story to tell about each of the major roads I travel on? To remember with a smile when I pass by a jewelery store or a mall or a tiny stationery shop or a cyber cafe… Memories of chocolates eaten, smiles shared, fibs told to steal freedom, people met, laughter and tears, walking in the sun, driving the car, scratching the bumper, spending money, saving money, tickets for movies by standing in line, tickets in movies by fluttering eyelashes at indulgent guy friends, friends and family, good and bad… Some bad dates (shh!!) and some good ones. Restaurants I love, places I avoid because they remind me of people I want to forget. Visits to the charminar and golconda fort… Drives out of the city. Drives in the city. The sole bike ride (or was that two?) on a friends bike… Working, exams, train rides, ambition…

This place is a part of me now. More than I ever imagined it would be. Hyderabad… I’m going to miss you.

Aisaich Miyan! Kya samajhte?

 

3 Responses to “Nostalgia”

  1. soumya Says:

    I know…bilikul aisaich lagtha hain miya…i seen a “ME/MY FEELING FOUR YEARS AGO” in your blog 🙂

    I miss HYD…for sure… 😦

  2. Devika Says:

    I love this blog.. 🙂 It is just too good….


Leave a Reply

