Simbly Bored

It's me that's bored enough to blog. The posts are interesting enough.

I Do NOT Want to Work With December 13, 2008

Filed under: Life in Amreeka,The Way I Am,The Way I See It — The Goddess @ 1:08 pm

So, we got a chance to name people we do and don’t want to work with on a semester long project beginning next Spring. It was an interesting question for me. Knowing as I did that I would feature on a few if not a lot of “Please not her” lists, I wasn’t sure if I was qualified to say I didn’t want X and Y on my team. 

I’m not a very easy person to work with. I like getting things done, I like quick outcomes, I re-write things I don’t like, I have a propensity to be late for meetings and in general, I’m all those things that end up yielding good outcomes but don’t win me any popularity contests. Combine that with my sharp personal preferences and it’s not a pretty picture. It’s not that I don’t want to be popular. It’s just that I can’t stand mediocrity and slowness.

So when I had a chance to choose, I thought about it for a long time. Is it right to pass judgement about someone? Can I, as a difficult team mate, call someone else difficult? Can I complain about someone else not being a good team player, not being good at meetings and stuff like that?

I thought for weeks. And when I picked names of people I don’t like, I realized, I just couldn’t get along with them. Irrespective of everything. And I finally made the decision to send out the mail today. And I feel it’s only right. Everyone has the right to choose. Even unpopular people! And as a friend put it, it’s not figuring on someone’s “Please not her” list that’s terrible. It’s landing in a team with someone you didn’t know put you on their list…

At the end of it all, I find that I don’t care. All I’m here for is to learn something and to get good grades. I gave up a job I loved, a city I loved living in, cashed in all my savings and some of my dad’s too and live away from my husband in the first year of our marriage to be here and learn. And that’s all I want. Popularity be damned!

 

2 Responses to “I Do NOT Want to Work With”

  1. Procastinator Says:

    i read so many of them today sambhavi … your blog is addictive …..

  2. The Goddess Says:

    🙂 thank you!!


Leave a Reply

