Simbly Bored

It's me that's bored enough to blog. The posts are interesting enough.

The Utter Waste… February 5, 2009

Filed under: Life in Amreeka — The Goddess @ 10:55 pm

There’s something I’ve been trying to come to terms with this last few months living in the US. And that is the fact that the average portion size here is twice as big as it is in India. 8 fluid ounces of coffee. A pound of meat in your burger, extra cheese on a cheese pizza, 8 ounces of coke and a large bag of fries to go with a double burger…

What do people do with so much food? A lot of it is wasted. I know that for a fact. People bring in three dozen cookies on a day when a grand total of 6 people come in to work. 

I never realized how much I’m accustomed to these sizes till I bought a small coffee at the Amsterdam airport and realized that it was actually small. 150ml, to be precise. Smaller portions, more fruit and less clutter.  That’s what the food court there looked like to me.

Sometimes, I wonder what the point of so much food is. Perhaps, fleeing from hunger is deeply embedded in our psyche and we want to prove with plenty that we’ll never starve again (like Scarlett O’ Hara perhaps) 

But I still can’t get over the sheer magnitude of the waste. People already overweight eating more than they should be while halfway across the world people starve. 

I don’t know if there’s a point to this rant of mine. The discrepancy just disturbs me…

 

2 Responses to “The Utter Waste…”

  1. J Says:

    In europe they do everything small.

    Espresso is smal
    Espresso Lungo is medium
    Espresso Americano is LARGE.

    Guess that explains it all.

  2. The Goddess Says:

    @J
    Didn’t know that! That’s hilarious! 😀


Leave a Reply

