Simbly Bored

It's me that's bored enough to blog. The posts are interesting enough.

New Widgets February 28, 2009

Filed under: Blogging,The Way I Am — The Goddess @ 8:11 am

So, I’ve added a couple of new widgets on my sidebar. I have random song addictions that last a week or two. So I decided to add a video gadget to the sidebar. I also changed my category listing from a dropdown to a cloud. The cloud just about conclusively proves that this blog is highly random and all about me. I considered adding delicious links to interesting articles I read and Twitter updates too but I just couldn’t bring myself to do that. I’m not too sure how long the other changes will last either. But I thought it might be a good thing to have a song play in the background as you read 🙂

My short lived love affair with Twitter has come to an end at last and my marriage has emerged unscathed. The affair last approximately as long as my collaborative technologies and social media class. Actually, less. I find that I don’t want the whole world to know what music I’m listening to, what news I’m reading and whether I had my lunch. As of now, that’s approximately what these gadgets are worth to me.

With time perhaps, I will be better networked, more popular and worth stalking. I have claimed my simblybored space on all these sites and when the time comes, I shall make it simple for you all to cyber stalk me. For now, I am content with the randomness that has dominated this space.

I toyed with the idea of applying some techniques of effective social media utilization to this blog. I wanted to make this an interactive and engaging space. Elevate it from being a mere blog to being a site you visit everyday. Then I realized that I am not in the portal design business. This blog always has and always been about chronicling things little and big in my life that I think are universal enough to share with you all. It’s not about getting more hits, generating ad revenue (WordPress doesn’t allow ads anyway) or about any of that stuff. It’s a blog that will always focus on text. Play on words, conjure images and recount scenes.

I think the only change I am capable of accepting is changes in template. But do leave a comment if you have any ideas for changes to this space! 

 

2 Responses to “New Widgets”

  1. This has nothing to do with the WIndows Sidebar and widgets. I was hoping to find a reason to bring it back up to my desktop


Leave a Reply

