Simbly Bored

It's me that's bored enough to blog. The posts are interesting enough.

Do I Really Need This? June 30, 2009

Filed under: Life in Amreeka — The Goddess @ 9:26 pm

I think the biggest trap I’ve ever fallen into is the, “I need it right now. It’s not that expensive, I can afford it” trap. The truth is, I don’t need most of the stuff I buy. I just like to buy stuff thinking I need it. And it sits on the shelf unused till it’s thrown or given away. Lots of things fall into this category. Clothes I wear just a few times, books I only read half of, makeup I never wear (or wear once), cream I never apply (I’m just a sucker for magical properties), food I can’t finish (I blame the package sizes in the US for that more than myself)…

It seems to me that we’ve forgotten the art of making do with what we have. I mean this not in the philosophical way but literally. If I begin studying, I wonder if I need to buy a notebook, not search for a half used one that I’m sure must be lying around somewhere. If I have to store something in the fridge, I wonder if I need to buy more plastic containers instead of finding a bowl and a plate to store it in. If it’s painful to carry something around (like a water bottle) I wonder if I need to buy two of them. There’s a box of tissues lying in the bathroom, the bedroom, the car, my desk at work and there’s a pack of them in my purse. I wonder where handkerchiefs went!

It’s not about indiscriminate consumerism anymore. I think I’ve moved on from buying stuff just because it’s cool and I can afford it. This is more about understanding if I really need everything I think we do. Do I really need enough clothes to rotate for several weeks? Do I need the pile of plastic containers? Do I need the three bags and the four lights and the five shades of lipstick to match the clothes I never wear?

I don’t.

Somehow, life seems a lot more complex the more stuff I have. It seems to clutter my space, my life, my mind and everything I own becomes one more thing to keep track of. What I really want to do one day is try and figure out the bare minimum possessions that will help me live comfortably without having to track them all. What I really want to do is be able to live with bare walls, borrowed books, a mat and two cushions on the floor a 32″ TV and an iPod…

 

3 Responses to “Do I Really Need This?”

  1. ww Says:

    wonderful!

  2. Joy Forever Says:

    Lovely post! I have been thinking that people here buy most of the things not because they need them but just because they are available. You seem to echo my sentiments. However, being a student, I am forced to live with a lot less stuff than most people, and I am happy about it.

    On a somewhat related note (consumerism) please watch this documentary if you haven’t done so already (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqxENMKaeCU). It is not in my nature to force hour-and-a-half long documentaries onto people I barely know, but this is one which is an absolute must watch. I even blogged about it. You’ll know why when you see it. 🙂

  3. The Goddess Says:

    @joy
    Like I was saying to my husband the other day, it’s not the people who make the stuff as much as the people who buy junk they don’t need that are to blame. Make something people will buy and you’re a genius. Buy something you don’t need and well…


Leave a Reply

